James Toney vs Hassim Rahman Outcome Officially Changed
By Johnny Benz, Doghouse Boxing (July 28, 2008) DoghouseBoxing.com  
Two weeks ago James Toney got a third-round technical stoppage on Hasim Rahman. The result of the fight has now been changed by California State Athletic Commission.

Today the Commission changed the outcome of the fight to a No Decision. The ruling came because an accidental clash of heads in the third round of the bout left Rahman with a cut over his left eye. The clash left Rahman unable to continue, and Toney was given a TKO victory. The Unified Rules of Boxing stipulate that if a fight is stopped before four completed rounds due to an accidental headbutt or foul, then the fight's outcome is automatically ruled a No Decision.

In a statement released from the Commission: "The original decision of the James Toney v. Hasim Rahman bout that took place on July 16, 2008 in Temecula, California was a Technical Knockout win for Mr. Toney. Mr. Rahman subsequently appealed the decision. His appeal met the rule requirements.

After reviewing all available facts, the original decision is changed to a No Decision.".



© Copyright / All Rights reserved: Doghouse Boxing Inc. 1998-2008